Is ScalaHosting a good web host?
Yes, with the right expectations. ScalaHosting’s reputation was built on managed cloud VPS, and its shared plans are the on-ramp: modest in size, backed by two guarantees that most hosts do not match, and run from its own data centers in Texas, New York, Washington state and Bulgaria. Everything in this review is a published fact we checked on the date given, a third-party measurement cited by name, or a gap we name as a gap. The pricing page renders its figures with JavaScript, so we read it in a real browser.
What do you get on each plan?
| Plan | Websites | Storage | CPU and RAM | Backups | Mailboxes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mini | 1 | 10 GB | Shared (not quantified) | Automated daily, 7 restore points | Not stated on the plan card |
| Start | Unlimited | 50 GB | Shared (not quantified) | Automated daily, 7 restore points | Not stated on the plan card |
| Advanced | Unlimited | 100 GB | Shared (not quantified) | Automated daily, 7 restore points | Not stated on the plan card |
| Entry Cloud | Unlimited | 50 GB | 2 dedicated CPUs, 2 GB RAM | Automated daily, 7 restore points | Not stated on the plan card |
Mini
- Websites
- 1
- Storage
- 10 GB
- CPU and RAM
- Shared (not quantified)
- Backups
- Automated daily, 7 restore points
- Mailboxes
- Not stated on the plan card
Start
- Websites
- Unlimited
- Storage
- 50 GB
- CPU and RAM
- Shared (not quantified)
- Backups
- Automated daily, 7 restore points
- Mailboxes
- Not stated on the plan card
Advanced
- Websites
- Unlimited
- Storage
- 100 GB
- CPU and RAM
- Shared (not quantified)
- Backups
- Automated daily, 7 restore points
- Mailboxes
- Not stated on the plan card
Entry Cloud
- Websites
- Unlimited
- Storage
- 50 GB
- CPU and RAM
- 2 dedicated CPUs, 2 GB RAM
- Backups
- Automated daily, 7 restore points
- Mailboxes
- Not stated on the plan card
Every plan includes NVMe storage, no bandwidth limits, a choice of SPanel or cPanel, expert support, free application installation, free website and email migration, an AI WordPress site builder, free SSL, CDN integration, WP-CLI and SSH, real-time malware protection, unlimited databases and automated backups. Start and Advanced add a free domain. Entry Cloud is a managed VPS tier with two dedicated CPUs and 2 GB of RAM, a free dedicated IP, priority support, blacklist monitoring, OpenLiteSpeed caching, white-label options and sub-user accounts.
What does it cost?
| Plan | Monthly | 36 months |
|---|---|---|
| Mini | $11.95/mosame at renewal | $2.95/mothen $11.95/mo |
| Start | n/a | $5.95/mothen $14.95/mo |
| Advanced | n/a | $9.95/mothen $19.95/mo |
| Entry Cloud | n/a | $14.95/mothen $39.95/mo |
Mini
- Monthly
- $11.95/mosame at renewal
- 36 months
- $2.95/morenews $11.95/mo
Start
- 36 months
- $5.95/morenews $14.95/mo
Advanced
- 36 months
- $9.95/morenews $19.95/mo
Entry Cloud
- 36 months
- $14.95/morenews $39.95/mo
The pricing page offers 36-month, 12-month and monthly billing. The introductory prices above apply to the 36-month term; month to month, Mini costs its full $11.95. The 12-month price did not change when we switched the selector, so we have left that column out rather than guess. Renewal prices are printed under each card.
Three-year cost on the entry plan
| Route | Years 1 to 3 |
|---|---|
| 36 months upfront | $106.20 |
| Month to month | $11.95 × 36 = $430.20 |
Because the refund is prorated at any time, the 36-month commitment is softer than it looks: leave after a year and the unused months come back.
How do refunds work?
The terms of service give new clients two options for web, reseller and VPS hosting: a full refund within 30 days of purchase, or a partial refund for the unused portion of the service at any time after activation. Dedicated servers, SSL certificates, domain registration, renewal or transfer, software licences and custom installs are excluded, and additional orders from existing clients do not qualify. Invoices are issued seven days before renewal, with a seven-day grace period after the due date.
What does the uptime guarantee pay?
ScalaHosting guarantees 99.9 percent uptime and publishes a credit table in its terms: 10 percent of the fee at 99.8 percent, 20 percent at 99.7, rising in 10-point steps to 90 percent at 99.0 and 100 percent below 99 percent. Scheduled downtime is excluded; claims go to the billing department within the stated window and are applied within seven days of approval. Among the hosts we review, only FastComet’s hourly credit is comparable.
What is the infrastructure?
Own-infrastructure locations are Dallas, New York, Seattle and Sofia. The data centers page lists many more regions (Madrid, Amsterdam, Stockholm, Warsaw, Copenhagen, Stavanger, Frankfurt, Sydney, Singapore, London, Helsinki, Paris, Dublin, Montreal, Ohio, Oregon, Virginia, Tokyo, Seoul, Mumbai) marked as integrated cloud or AWS infrastructure, which apply to cloud plans rather than shared hosting. Storage is NVMe throughout. Backups are automated daily with seven restore points kept for the last seven days, per the knowledge base. The company started in 2007 with reseller hosting and dedicated servers, launched SSD cloud hosting in 2014, and says it hosted the Philippines presidential election learning system in 2021.
How fast and reliable is it?
Kripesh Adwani’s review, updated on 19 June 2026, ran the Mini plan under Better Uptime for 365 days:
- 99.99 percent average uptime.
- Page load of 1.05 seconds from New York and 3.06 seconds from Bangalore, which mostly measures distance from a US server.
- A k6 load test at 50 virtual users: 10,500 requests, no failures, a 63 millisecond 95th-percentile response.
WPBeginner’s July 2026 review tested the Entry Cloud plan:
- 100 percent uptime over 30 days of UptimeRobot checks.
- A 526 millisecond average response time across six regions.
- A k6 load test at 50 virtual users with a 29 millisecond 95th-percentile response and no failures.
- GTmetrix Largest Contentful Paint of 980 milliseconds on 24 July 2026.
BloggersPassion’s review by Anil Agarwal, updated on 16 February 2026, is the only published test we found from the London data center, on the entry managed VPS plan rather than a shared plan: 100 percent uptime over 30 days on UptimeRobot, a TTFB of 705 milliseconds, server response of 11 milliseconds from the US and 75 from London, and a Largest Contentful Paint of about 1.3 seconds from Europe and 1.9 from the US.
Reliable, then, with response times in the middle of this set, and still no measurement from Europe against the Sofia location.
How good is the support?
Chat, tickets and phone, 24/7, with priority queueing on Entry Cloud. Both reviewers report chat replies within one to two minutes. The pricing page cites a 4.9 rating from more than 2,000 reviews across platforms; we could not load the live Trustpilot page to confirm the count. We have not timed tickets ourselves and will add real ones to the support table on this page.
Who owns ScalaHosting, and where is it?
Founded in 2007 by Hristo Rusev and Vladislav Georgiev, with headquarters in Dallas, Texas, and most of its staff in Sofia, Bulgaria, according to the company profiles we found; the about page gives the timeline but not the legal entity. We have asked for the registered name.
What is missing or unclear?
- Cores and RAM on the shared plans, described only as shared.
- The 12-month price, which the page selector did not change in our reading.
- Mailbox counts on the plan cards.
- The legal entity behind the terms.
- HostIdea’s own monitoring, support timing and load testing have not started.
Who should choose ScalaHosting, and who should look elsewhere?
Choose it if you expect to need a managed VPS later and want the same panel and company throughout, or if the anytime refund matters to you. Start is the plan to buy: unlimited sites, 50 GB and the free domain for $5.95 a month on 36 months.
Look elsewhere if you want a bigger entry plan with a domain (Flashcloud), published resources on shared hosting (Hosting.com), or an own-infrastructure location in Asia or Australia (FastComet).
How we scored this review
The scores on this page are provisional. Uptime credits two consistent third-party measurements and the credit table. Performance reflects middling response times and a modern stack. Features credit the panel, backups and guarantees against the small entry plan. Value weighs the 36-month term against the anytime refund. Support reflects the channels and the reviewers’ timing, not our own. Each score will be recomputed when our own data exists, and the review history on this page will show the change.
