Hostinger vs SiteGround
Hostinger and SiteGround compared on measured uptime, response time, pricing and features from our own tests. They tie on overall score.
By Jennifer T. · Updated
We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. Rankings come from the published methodology and sourced data, not from commissions. Disclosure.
Verdict
8.0 out of 10
Very cheap on a 48-month term, with an easy custom panel; the entry plan cuts backups and email
8.0 out of 10
Managed-feel shared hosting on Google Cloud with daily backups and staging; the renewals are the price
Both hosts score 8.0 overall.
How do the scores compare?
Hostinger leads on 1 sub-scores, SiteGround on 2. Higher is better.
| Hostinger | SiteGround | |
|---|---|---|
| Performance | 8.0 | 8.0 |
| Uptime | 8.5 | 8.5 |
| Support | 8.0 | 8.5 (better) |
| Features | 7.5 | 8.5 (better) |
| Value | 8.0 (better) | 6.5 |
| Ease of use | 8.0 | 8.0 |
Which one is faster and more reliable?
| Hostinger | SiteGround | |
|---|---|---|
| Overall score | 8.0 | 8.0 |
| Uptime (published)Kripesh Adwani 365 d vs HostingStep 243 d; methods differ | 99.96% | 99.97% (better) |
| Response time (published)HostingStep vs HostingStep; methods differ | 447 ms (better) | 745 ms |
Which one costs less?
On renewal, Hostinger is cheaper ($10.99/mo vs $17.99/mo). Intro prices need the listed term.
| Hostinger | SiteGround | |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest plan | Premium | StartUp |
| Intro price | $2.99/mo | $2.99/mo |
| Renewal price | $10.99/mo (better) | $17.99/mo |
| Required term | 48 months | 12 months (better) |
| Websites | 3 | 1 |
| Storage | 20 GB | 10 GB |
| Money back | 30 days | 30 days |
What does each include?
| Hostinger | SiteGround | |
|---|---|---|
| Free domain | First year only, on 12-month and longer terms | First year only; regular renewal fee after that |
| Free SSL | Yes | Yes |
| Backups | Weekly on Premium; daily on Unlimited and Cloud Startup | Not stated |
| Email hosting | 2 mailboxes per website on Premium, unlimited on the other plans; free for the first year | Unlimited accounts with webmail and spam protection |
| CDN | Included on Unlimited and Cloud Startup; listed as available on Premium | SiteGround CDN on Google Cloud, 170+ edge locations |
| Control panel | hPanel, Hostinger's own panel, with an AI assistant | Not stated |
| AI tools | AI website builder credits: 5 on Premium, 15 on the other plans, one-time | Not stated |
| Ecommerce | Available on every plan | Not stated |
| Fair usage limits | 3 GB per database, 300 databases, 300 FTP accounts, 400 cron jobs | Not stated |
| Uptime guarantee | 99.9% per month; 5% credit of that month's fee, claimed within 30 days | 99.9% per month; 5% of that month's fee as a service-extension credit |
| Choice of data center | 12 regions across North America, Europe, Asia and South America | 11 locations on Google Cloud, chosen at signup |
| Phone support | No | No |
| Windows hosting | No | No |
| Daily backups | Not stated | Kept for 30 days; on-demand backups on GrowBig and GoGeek |
| Staging | Not stated | GrowBig and GoGeek; GoGeek adds Git |
| Free migration | Not stated | Automatic WordPress migrator on every plan; expert transfer by staff |
| Caching | Not stated | Multilevel caching with the Speed Optimizer plugin |
| WP-CLI and SSH | Not stated | Yes |
| Fair-use limits | Not stated | CPU seconds per hour 1,000 / 2,000 / 4,000; inodes 200k / 400k / 600k; 768 MB RAM per process; databases up to 1 GB |
Company facts
| Hostinger | SiteGround | |
|---|---|---|
| Control panel | hPanel (Hostinger's own panel) | Site Tools (SiteGround's own panel) |
| Data centers | 12 (better) | 11 |
| Support channels | chat, email, knowledge-base | chat, ticket, knowledge-base |
| Founded | 2004 | 2004 |