HostPapa vs NameHero
HostPapa and NameHero compared on measured uptime, response time, pricing and features from our own tests. They tie on overall score.
By Jennifer T. · Updated
We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. Rankings come from the published methodology and sourced data, not from commissions. Disclosure.
Verdict
7.3 out of 10
Canadian cPanel host with phone support in 16 countries and five data centers; backups cost extra after year one
7.3 out of 10
cPanel host since 2015 with NVMe, LiteSpeed and stated cores and RAM: cheap for three years, four times the price after
Both hosts score 7.3 overall.
How do the scores compare?
HostPapa leads on 3 sub-scores, NameHero on 2. Higher is better.
Which one is faster and more reliable?
Which one costs less?
On renewal, HostPapa is cheaper ($8.99/mo vs $11.64/mo). Intro prices need the listed term.
What does each include?
| HostPapa | NameHero | |
|---|---|---|
| Free domain | First year, on terms of one year or longer, select extensions; a non-refundable domain fee applies if you cancel in the first term | Turbo Cloud and Business Cloud on a 24 or 36-month term; not on Starter or Plus |
| Free SSL | Standard certificate | Free and auto-renewing SSL on every plan |
| Automated backups | 1 GB on Essentials and 5 GB on Growth free for the first year; a paid add-on afterwards | Not stated |
| Staging | On every plan | No |
| CDN | Yes | Not stated |
| Security | Imunify360 basic on Essentials; Protection Power plus Imunify360 on Growth and above, free for the full term | Security Shield on every plan; HeroGuard with premium SSL, malware scanning and monitoring costs $9.99 a month in the cart |
| Free migration | Yes | Complimentary migrations by the Level III team |
| Server resources | Relative tiers 1x, 2x, 4x, 8x; cores, inodes and database size not published on the plan cards | Not stated |
| Uptime guarantee | 99.9% measured monthly, excluding scheduled maintenance, as a reasonable-efforts commitment; no credit schedule in the terms | No |
| Choice of data center | Toronto, Buffalo, Miami, Los Angeles or Amsterdam, per the data centers page | Not stated |
| Phone support | 24/7, local numbers in 16 countries | 1-855-984-6263, 9 AM to 5 PM Central per the about page; chat and tickets around the clock |
| Windows hosting | No | Not stated |
| Backups | Not stated | Nightly and weekly backups listed in the comparison table; HeroVault offsite backups with 30 days of retention cost $6.99 a month in the cart |
| Free CDN | Not stated | QUIC.cloud CDN listed in the comparison table |
| Caching | Not stated | LiteSpeed web server with LiteSpeed Cache; the Turbo tier on the two upper plans |
| Not stated | Unlimited accounts; mailbox quota 1 GB on Starter, 2 GB on Plus, unlimited above; 50 or 350 emails an hour | |
| Guaranteed resources | Not stated | Cores and RAM printed per plan, 1 and 1 GB up to 4 and 4 GB, on a partitioned cloud environment |
| Data center choice | Not stated | US (Lenexa, Kansas), London and Canada on the plan cards; the comparison table lists US for every plan |
| SSH | Not stated | Jailed SSH access listed in the comparison table |