Pressable vs Namecheap
Pressable and Namecheap compared on measured uptime, response time, pricing and features from our own tests. Pressable scores higher overall.
By Jennifer T. · Updated
We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. Rankings come from the published methodology and sourced data, not from commissions. Disclosure.
Verdict
PressableWins overall
Automattic's managed WordPress host: dedicated PHP workers, four origins, failover, a 100 percent SLA, from $25 a month
The Phoenix registrar's cPanel hosting: three sites for $5.88 at renewal, a 30-day free trial and four data centers
Pressable wins 5 of the six sub-scores and comes out ahead overall (7.7 vs 6.9).
How do the scores compare?
Pressable leads on 5 sub-scores, Namecheap on 1. Higher is better.
Which one is faster and more reliable?
Which one costs less?
On renewal, Namecheap is cheaper ($5.88/mo vs $20.83/mo). Intro prices need the listed term.
What does each include?
| Pressable | Namecheap | |
|---|---|---|
| Free domain | No | No |
| Free SSL | Included; a Jetpack Security licence comes with every plan | 50 standard certificates for one year on every plan, installed automatically |
| Backups | Hourly database and daily full backups, restorable from the site dashboard, per the support policy | Twice a week on Stellar (restored by ticket); Stellar Plus and Business add AutoBackup with 6 daily, 3 weekly and 5 monthly copies |
| Free migration | Unlimited site migrations on every plan | cPanel-to-cPanel transfers free; manual migration case by case |
| Free CDN | Built-in edge cache and global CDN across more than 24 edge locations | Supersonic CDN with DDoS protection, for domains on Namecheap's hosting nameservers |
| Caching | Edge cache, OPcache, page cache and query cache | No |
| Staging | One staging and one sandbox site per WordPress install on every Signature plan | No |
| No | Not stated | |
| Dedicated resources | 5 dedicated PHP workers (5 vCPUs) per site with 512 MB each and burst capacity; no shared memory pools | Not stated |
| Data center choice | Los Angeles, Dallas, Ashburn or Amsterdam per site at creation, with an account default; a secondary server in another region takes over on failure | Phoenix, Amsterdam, Singapore or Farnborough at checkout; moving an account later is a billing request |
| Uptime guarantee | 100 percent network, infrastructure and hardware SLA with a credit of 5 percent of the monthly fee per 30 minutes of downtime, up to the full month | 100% monthly on shared plans; one day of service added per hour of unscheduled downtime, up to one month, claimed by ticket within 10 days |
| Developer tools | SSH and WP-CLI described on the features pages, an API, an MCP server, DupliKits site templates, multisite and headless support | Not stated |
| Security | Jetpack Security, malware monitoring and threat response, Secure Hosting Alliance certification | Imunify360 (malware scanning, intrusion prevention, machine-learning firewall), KernelCare patching, account isolation, cPanel two-factor login |
| Phone support | No | No |
| SSH and languages | Not stated | Jailshell SSH, PHP, Perl, Python, Node.js and Ruby scripts |
| Website builder | Not stated | Sitejet AI website builder and an AI assistant for WordPress on every plan |
| Dedicated IP | Not stated | $4.00 a month add-on |
| Windows hosting | Not stated | No |