InMotion Hosting vs NameHero
InMotion Hosting and NameHero compared on measured uptime, response time, pricing and features from our own tests. InMotion Hosting scores higher overall.
By Jennifer T. · Updated
We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. Rankings come from the published methodology and sourced data, not from commissions. Disclosure.
Verdict
InMotion HostingWins overall
Employee-owned US host since 2001 with a 90-day refund, generous disks and US-based support; backups are a paid add-on
cPanel host since 2015 with NVMe, LiteSpeed and stated cores and RAM: cheap for three years, four times the price after
InMotion Hosting wins 4 of the six sub-scores and comes out ahead overall (7.7 vs 7.3).
How do the scores compare?
InMotion Hosting leads on 4 sub-scores, NameHero on 2. Higher is better.
| InMotion Hosting | NameHero | |
|---|---|---|
| Performance | 8.0 (better) | 7.5 |
| Uptime | 8.5 (better) | 6.5 |
| Support | 8.0 (better) | 7.5 |
| Features | 6.5 | 8.0 (better) |
| Value | 6.5 | 7.0 (better) |
| Ease of use | 8.0 (better) | 7.5 |
Which one is faster and more reliable?
| InMotion Hosting | NameHero | |
|---|---|---|
| Overall score | 7.7 (better) | 7.3 |
| Uptime (published)Kripesh Adwani 365 d vs Kripesh Adwani 365 d; methods differ | 99.97% | 99.98% (better) |
Which one costs less?
On renewal, NameHero is cheaper ($11.64/mo vs $14.99/mo). Intro prices need the listed term.
| InMotion Hosting | NameHero | |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest plan | Launch | Starter Cloud |
| Intro price | $4.99/mo | $2.91/mo (better) |
| Renewal price | $14.99/mo | $11.64/mo (better) |
| Required term | 12 months (better) | 36 months |
| Websites | 2 | 1 |
| Storage | 100 GB | 25 GB |
| Money back | 30 days, prorated to day 90 (better) | 30 days |
What does each include?
| InMotion Hosting | NameHero | |
|---|---|---|
| Free domain | Included with the plan (the page shows the domain's value) | Turbo Cloud and Business Cloud on a 24 or 36-month term; not on Starter or Plus |
| Free SSL | Yes | Free and auto-renewing SSL on every plan |
| Backups | No | Nightly and weekly backups listed in the comparison table; HeroVault offsite backups with 30 days of retention cost $6.99 a month in the cart |
| Free migration | Website migration handled by InMotion's team | Complimentary migrations by the Level III team |
| Developer stack | Python, Node.js, Ruby and Git on every plan; SSH | Not stated |
| Security | Malware and DDoS protection, web application firewall | Security Shield on every plan; HeroGuard with premium SSL, malware scanning and monitoring costs $9.99 a month in the cart |
| Free cPanel email accounts; professional email with a 1-month trial | Unlimited accounts; mailbox quota 1 GB on Starter, 2 GB on Plus, unlimited above; 50 or 350 emails an hour | |
| Uptime guarantee | 99.99% on Power and Pro, with credits described in InMotion's own blog; no guarantee line on Launch | No |
| Choice of data center | Los Angeles, Ashburn or Amsterdam; Singapore announced | Not stated |
| Phone support | Power and Pro; Launch is live chat | 1-855-984-6263, 9 AM to 5 PM Central per the about page; chat and tickets around the clock |
| Windows hosting | No | Not stated |
| Free CDN | Not stated | QUIC.cloud CDN listed in the comparison table |
| Caching | Not stated | LiteSpeed web server with LiteSpeed Cache; the Turbo tier on the two upper plans |
| Staging | Not stated | No |
| Guaranteed resources | Not stated | Cores and RAM printed per plan, 1 and 1 GB up to 4 and 4 GB, on a partitioned cloud environment |
| Data center choice | Not stated | US (Lenexa, Kansas), London and Canada on the plan cards; the comparison table lists US for every plan |
| SSH | Not stated | Jailed SSH access listed in the comparison table |
Company facts
| InMotion Hosting | NameHero | |
|---|---|---|
| Control panel | cPanel with InMotion's Account Management Panel | cPanel |
| Data centers | 4 (better) | 3 |
| Support channels | chat, ticket, phone, email, knowledge-base | chat, ticket, phone, knowledge-base |
| Founded | 2001 | 2015 |