KnownHost vs HostPapa
KnownHost and HostPapa compared on measured uptime, response time, pricing and features from our own tests. KnownHost scores higher overall.
By Jennifer T. · Updated
We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. Rankings come from the published methodology and sourced data, not from commissions. Disclosure.
Verdict
KnownHostWins overall
Managed cPanel hosting since 2006 on LiteSpeed and NVMe with stated cores and RAM, daily backups and three locations
Canadian cPanel host with phone support in 16 countries and five data centers; backups cost extra after year one
KnownHost wins 2 of the six sub-scores and comes out ahead overall (7.4 vs 7.3).
How do the scores compare?
KnownHost leads on 2 sub-scores, HostPapa on 2. Higher is better.
Which one is faster and more reliable?
Which one costs less?
On renewal, KnownHost is cheaper ($7.16/mo vs $8.99/mo). Intro prices need the listed term.
What does each include?
| KnownHost | HostPapa | |
|---|---|---|
| Free domain | No | First year, on terms of one year or longer, select extensions; a non-refundable domain fee applies if you cancel in the first term |
| Free SSL | Every plan, every domain | Standard certificate |
| Backups | Daily JetBackup with 2-day and 1-week retention on every plan; extended retention sold as an add-on | Not stated |
| Free migration | Migration team copies files, databases and email and tests the site | Yes |
| Free CDN | No | Not stated |
| Caching | LiteSpeed Web Server with LSCache on every plan; Redis and Memcached optional | Not stated |
| Staging | No | On every plan |
| SSH, Git and cron | Every plan, with current PHP versions | Not stated |
| Resource limits | CloudLinux isolation with 1, 2, 4 and 6 cores and 1, 2, 4 and 6 GB memory limits by plan | Not stated |
| Data center choice | Atlanta, Seattle or Amsterdam at checkout | Not stated |
| Uptime guarantee | The network page claims a 99.999% availability SLA and 99.99+% uptimes; the terms of service contain no uptime clause or credit schedule | 99.9% measured monthly, excluding scheduled maintenance, as a reasonable-efforts commitment; no credit schedule in the terms |
| Security | Imunify360 with real-time malware scanning and a web application firewall; Patchman optional on Basic and Standard, included above | Imunify360 basic on Essentials; Protection Power plus Imunify360 on Growth and above, free for the full term |
| 5, 25 or unlimited mailboxes by plan, with webmail | Not stated | |
| Phone support | A US toll-free number on every page, with 24/7 ticket support | 24/7, local numbers in 16 countries |
| Windows hosting | No | No |
| Automated backups | Not stated | 1 GB on Essentials and 5 GB on Growth free for the first year; a paid add-on afterwards |
| CDN | Not stated | Yes |
| Server resources | Not stated | Relative tiers 1x, 2x, 4x, 8x; cores, inodes and database size not published on the plan cards |
| Choice of data center | Not stated | Toronto, Buffalo, Miami, Los Angeles or Amsterdam, per the data centers page |