HostGator vs NameHero
HostGator and NameHero compared on measured uptime, response time, pricing and features from our own tests. HostGator scores higher overall.
By Jennifer T. · Updated
We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. Rankings come from the published methodology and sourced data, not from commissions. Disclosure.
Verdict
HostGatorWins overall
Newfold's Texas-born cPanel host: four shared tiers on a 36-month term with a free domain, Cloudflare CDN and staging
cPanel host since 2015 with NVMe, LiteSpeed and stated cores and RAM: cheap for three years, four times the price after
HostGator wins 2 of the six sub-scores and comes out ahead overall (7.4 vs 7.3).
How do the scores compare?
HostGator leads on 2 sub-scores, NameHero on 3. Higher is better.
Which one is faster and more reliable?
Which one costs less?
On renewal, HostGator is cheaper ($10.99/mo vs $11.64/mo). Intro prices need the listed term.
What does each include?
| HostGator | NameHero | |
|---|---|---|
| Free domain | First year on every plan; $22.99 is deducted from a refund if you cancel within the year | Turbo Cloud and Business Cloud on a 24 or 36-month term; not on Starter or Plus |
| Free SSL | Let's Encrypt, auto-renewed | Free and auto-renewing SSL on every plan |
| Backups | Weekly courtesy backups, restorable with one click; the terms call them a courtesy, so keep your own | Nightly and weekly backups listed in the comparison table; HeroVault offsite backups with 30 days of retention cost $6.99 a month in the cart |
| Free migration | A free site migration tool is listed on the plan cards; the comparison table on the same page says paid migration is available | Complimentary migrations by the Level III team |
| Free CDN | Cloudflare with Argo routing on every plan | QUIC.cloud CDN listed in the comparison table |
| Caching | Static content caching and object caching on every plan; the feature list names an NGINX caching layer | LiteSpeed web server with LiteSpeed Cache; the Turbo tier on the two upper plans |
| Staging | WordPress staging site on every plan | No |
| SSH and languages | SSH, WP-CLI, cron, PHP 8.2, Ruby on Rails, Perl, Python, unlimited MySQL and SFTP users | Not stated |
| Resource limits | No | Not stated |
| Data center choice | No | US (Lenexa, Kansas), London and Canada on the plan cards; the comparison table lists US for every plan |
| Uptime guarantee | The plan page says 99 percent; the terms we read contain no uptime clause or credit schedule | No |
| Security | Malware scanning, AI-powered detection and removal from Baby up, web application firewall, DDoS protection, DDoS scrub center | Security Shield on every plan; HeroGuard with premium SSL, malware scanning and monitoring costs $9.99 a month in the cart |
| Unlimited POP3 and IMAP mailboxes with SpamAssassin; Pro Email is a paid product after a free trial | Unlimited accounts; mailbox quota 1 GB on Starter, 2 GB on Plus, unlimited above; 50 or 350 emails an hour | |
| Phone support | Baby, Business and Pro; Hatchling is chat only | 1-855-984-6263, 9 AM to 5 PM Central per the about page; chat and tickets around the clock |
| Windows hosting | No | Not stated |
| Guaranteed resources | Not stated | Cores and RAM printed per plan, 1 and 1 GB up to 4 and 4 GB, on a partitioned cloud environment |
| SSH | Not stated | Jailed SSH access listed in the comparison table |