DreamHost vs NameHero
DreamHost and NameHero compared on measured uptime, response time, pricing and features from our own tests. DreamHost scores higher overall.
By Jennifer T. · Updated
We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. Rankings come from the published methodology and sourced data, not from commissions. Disclosure.
Verdict
DreamHostWins overall
Independent since 1997: three shared plans with renewals printed on the card, daily backups and a 100% uptime credit
cPanel host since 2015 with NVMe, LiteSpeed and stated cores and RAM: cheap for three years, four times the price after
DreamHost wins 2 of the six sub-scores and comes out ahead overall (7.6 vs 7.3).
How do the scores compare?
DreamHost leads on 2 sub-scores, NameHero on 3. Higher is better.
Which one is faster and more reliable?
Which one costs less?
On renewal, DreamHost is cheaper ($10.99/mo vs $11.64/mo). Intro prices need the listed term.
| DreamHost | NameHero | |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest plan | Web Hosting Launch | Starter Cloud |
| Intro price | $2.89/mo (better) | $2.91/mo |
| Renewal price | $10.99/mo (better) | $11.64/mo |
| Required term | 12 months (better) | 36 months |
| Websites | 25 | 1 |
| Storage | 25 GB | 25 GB |
| Money back | 30 days | 30 days |
What does each include?
| DreamHost | NameHero | |
|---|---|---|
| Free domain | First year, on annual and multi-year terms only | Turbo Cloud and Business Cloud on a 24 or 36-month term; not on Starter or Plus |
| Free SSL | Unlimited certificates on every plan | Free and auto-renewing SSL on every plan |
| Backups | Daily automated backups on every plan, restored from the panel | Nightly and weekly backups listed in the comparison table; HeroVault offsite backups with 30 days of retention cost $6.99 a month in the cart |
| Free migration | The product page links a migration path for existing sites; terms not read | Complimentary migrations by the Level III team |
| Free CDN | No | QUIC.cloud CDN listed in the comparison table |
| Caching | No | LiteSpeed web server with LiteSpeed Cache; the Turbo tier on the two upper plans |
| Staging | No | No |
| 20, 40 or 60 mailboxes free for the first three months, then billed separately | Unlimited accounts; mailbox quota 1 GB on Starter, 2 GB on Plus, unlimited above; 50 or 350 emails an hour | |
| Resource limits | No | Not stated |
| Data center choice | Oregon, Virginia, Amsterdam and Singapore per the product page and help center; the panel shows where each service lives | US (Lenexa, Kansas), London and Canada on the plan cards; the comparison table lists US for every plan |
| Uptime guarantee | 100% in the terms, with a credit of one day of hosting per hour of qualifying downtime, up to 10% of the next renewal, counted from the support ticket | No |
| Performance scans | Automated and on-demand performance scans on every plan | Not stated |
| Phone support | No | 1-855-984-6263, 9 AM to 5 PM Central per the about page; chat and tickets around the clock |
| Windows hosting | No | Not stated |
| Guaranteed resources | Not stated | Cores and RAM printed per plan, 1 and 1 GB up to 4 and 4 GB, on a partitioned cloud environment |
| SSH | Not stated | Jailed SSH access listed in the comparison table |
| Security | Not stated | Security Shield on every plan; HeroGuard with premium SSL, malware scanning and monitoring costs $9.99 a month in the cart |