Cloudways vs NameHero
Cloudways and NameHero compared on measured uptime, response time, pricing and features from our own tests. Cloudways scores higher overall.
By Jennifer T. · Updated
We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. Rankings come from the published methodology and sourced data, not from commissions. Disclosure.
Verdict
CloudwaysWins overall
DigitalOcean's managed cloud layer: servers from $11 a month on five clouds, billed hourly, staging and caching included
cPanel host since 2015 with NVMe, LiteSpeed and stated cores and RAM: cheap for three years, four times the price after
Cloudways wins 2 of the six sub-scores and comes out ahead overall (7.8 vs 7.3).
How do the scores compare?
Cloudways leads on 2 sub-scores, NameHero on 1. Higher is better.
Which one is faster and more reliable?
Which one costs less?
On renewal, NameHero is cheaper ($11.64/mo vs $14.00/mo). Intro prices need the listed term.
| Cloudways | NameHero | |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest plan | DigitalOcean Premium Micro | Starter Cloud |
| Intro price | $14.00/mo | $2.91/mo (better) |
| Renewal price | $14.00/mo | $11.64/mo (better) |
| Required term | 1 months (better) | 36 months |
| Websites | unlimited | 1 |
| Storage | 25 GB | 25 GB |
| Money back | 0 days | 30 days (better) |
What does each include?
| Cloudways | NameHero | |
|---|---|---|
| Free domain | No | Turbo Cloud and Business Cloud on a 24 or 36-month term; not on Starter or Plus |
| Free SSL | Let's Encrypt certificates on every application | Free and auto-renewing SSL on every plan |
| Backups | On-demand and scheduled server backups with one-click restore; offsite storage billed at $0.033 per GB per server | Nightly and weekly backups listed in the comparison table; HeroVault offsite backups with 30 days of retention cost $6.99 a month in the cart |
| Free migration | Free migration of existing sites | Complimentary migrations by the Level III team |
| Free CDN | No | QUIC.cloud CDN listed in the comparison table |
| Caching | Lightning Stack (NGINX), Object Cache Pro and Redis included on every plan | LiteSpeed web server with LiteSpeed Cache; the Turbo tier on the two upper plans |
| Staging | Advanced staging and cloning on every plan | No |
| No | Unlimited accounts; mailbox quota 1 GB on Starter, 2 GB on Plus, unlimited above; 50 or 350 emails an hour | |
| Resource limits | A whole server per customer: 1 to 8 GB RAM and 1 to 4 vCPU on the listed sizes, larger sizes and other providers available | Not stated |
| Data center choice | The provider's regions, chosen per server: DigitalOcean 9, Vultr 30, Linode 25, AWS 28, Google Cloud 28 | US (Lenexa, Kansas), London and Canada on the plan cards; the comparison table lists US for every plan |
| Uptime guarantee | No | No |
| Security | Built-in firewall with IP blocking, WordPress vulnerability scanner, bot protection and dedicated firewalls per the pricing page | Security Shield on every plan; HeroGuard with premium SSL, malware scanning and monitoring costs $9.99 a month in the cart |
| Free trial | 3 days without a credit card | Not stated |
| Phone support | No | 1-855-984-6263, 9 AM to 5 PM Central per the about page; chat and tickets around the clock |
| Windows hosting | No | Not stated |
| Guaranteed resources | Not stated | Cores and RAM printed per plan, 1 and 1 GB up to 4 and 4 GB, on a partitioned cloud environment |
| SSH | Not stated | Jailed SSH access listed in the comparison table |