Bluehost vs GoDaddy
Bluehost and GoDaddy compared on measured uptime, response time, pricing and features from our own tests. Bluehost scores higher overall.
By Jennifer T. · Updated
We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. Rankings come from the published methodology and sourced data, not from commissions. Disclosure.
Verdict
BluehostWins overall
Newfold's WordPress-recommended host: three shared tiers on 36-month terms, weekly backups, a 5 percent SLA coupon
The largest registrar's cPanel hosting: three plans on a three-year term with a free domain and daily backups
Bluehost wins 3 of the six sub-scores and comes out ahead overall (7.6 vs 7.2).
How do the scores compare?
Bluehost leads on 3 sub-scores, GoDaddy on 0. Higher is better.
Which one is faster and more reliable?
Which one costs less?
On renewal, Bluehost is cheaper ($9.99/mo vs $11.99/mo). Intro prices need the listed term.
What does each include?
| Bluehost | GoDaddy | |
|---|---|---|
| Free domain | First year, with a 12-month or 36-month term | First year on every plan, marked with an asterisk whose disclaimer the page keeps collapsed |
| Free SSL | Let's Encrypt | One year on Economy; unlimited certificates for all sites on Deluxe and Ultimate, auto-renewed through AutoSSL |
| Backups | Weekly website backups on every shared plan | Automatic daily backups, with recovery of the whole account from the previous day |
| Staging | WordPress staging site on every plan | No |
| Free migration | Site migration tool | No |
| CDN | Yes | Not stated |
| Caching | Advanced static content caching and object caching | No |
| SSH and WP-CLI | Yes | Not stated |
| Security | Malware scanning on Starter; AI malware removal, web application firewall and DDoS protection from Business | DDoS protection and network monitoring on every plan; a site security suite is included on the cards |
| Phone support | Business and above; Starter has chat only | 24/7 chat, phone and email through GoDaddy Guides |
| Uptime guarantee | 99.99% SLA; at most one coupon per month for 5% of the monthly hosting fee | 99.9% per month in the hosting agreement, with a credit of 5% of the monthly fee on request, usable for future purchases |
| Choice of data center | Region selected at checkout (North America, South America, Europe, Asia) | Not stated |
| Windows hosting | No | No |
| Free CDN | Not stated | The page lists CDN and firewall among the included essentials without naming the provider |
| Node.js and languages | Not stated | Node.js on every plan; the dashboard exposes CPU, memory, entry processes and I/O controls |
| Resource limits | Not stated | 250,000 inodes and 100 GB per account in the hosting agreement; no CPU or RAM figures on the plan page |
| Data center choice | Not stated | No |
| Not stated | Free email is listed on every plan without a mailbox count |